PipelineFX Forum

Qube! => Installation and Configuration => Topic started by: foobar on October 17, 2007, 08:59:33 PM

Title: Best way to perform Qube! upgrade
Post by: foobar on October 17, 2007, 08:59:33 PM
I'm sure this is covered somewhere, but I just don't know where! :)

What is the best way to upgrade an entire Qube installation? By this, I mean, how can I easily upgrade the supervisor and all the workers?

Also, where can I download the most current version of Qube?

Thanks!
Title: Re: Best way to perform Qube! upgrade
Post by: eric on October 18, 2007, 02:10:00 AM
I'm sure this is covered somewhere, but I just don't know where! :)

What is the best way to upgrade an entire Qube installation? By this, I mean, how can I easily upgrade the supervisor and all the workers?

I'm not sure what you mean by "easily." Can you be more specific?

Quote
Also, where can I download the most current version of Qube?

Thanks!

If you're a customer on support, you can download Qube from our FTP server using the login and password you were issued along with your license keys.
Title: Re: Best way to perform Qube! upgrade
Post by: foobar on October 18, 2007, 06:41:04 PM
I'm not sure what you mean by "easily." Can you be more specific?

"easily" != "hard"   ;)

I would like to upgrade the supervisor THEN upgrade all the workers at once without needing to remotely log into each node to install the upgrade. I'm sure there's a way to do a global worker upgrade...I just don't know how to do it! :)

Thanks!
Title: Re: Best way to perform Qube! upgrade
Post by: eric on October 18, 2007, 07:03:00 PM
I'm not sure what you mean by "easily." Can you be more specific?

"easily" != "hard"   ;)

I would like to upgrade the supervisor THEN upgrade all the workers at once without needing to remotely log into each node to install the upgrade. I'm sure there's a way to do a global worker upgrade...I just don't know how to do it! :)

Thanks!

No, that's pretty much how it goes. There are a number of different 3rd-party software distribution systems that might be useful. Alternatively, you could qbsub the upgrades as commands using the host_list flag to force execution across a set of hosts. However, this is not a standard upgrade procedure that we support.
Title: Re: Best way to perform Qube! upgrade
Post by: arenyart on November 09, 2007, 04:41:02 AM
I don't work for Qube so I hope this advice is not out of line, but I have found that creating a batch script using msiexec (so you don't have to answer all the questions) works best. I usually run it manually on each machine after that.  I created a bunch of rdp files so I can quickly remote into all the machines, but you could also run the batch script through qube, as described above. 

Here is an example of the batch script I use (replace "file_servername accordingly):

@echo ...
@echo Now Installing Active Perl...
@start /wait msiexec /i "\\file_server_name\qube\5.2\32bit\ActivePerl-5.8.8.820-MSWin32-x86-274739.msi" /qb!
@echo ...
@echo Now Installing the Qube Core...
@start /wait msiexec /i "\\file_server_name\qube\5.2\32bit\qube-core-5.2-1-Windows-x86.msi" /qb!
@echo ...
@echo Now Installing the Qube Worker...
@start /wait msiexec /i "\\file_server_name\qube\5.2\32bit\qube-worker-5.2-1-Windows-x86.msi" /qb!
@echo ...
@echo Now Installing the Qube Job Type Lib...
@start /wait msiexec /i "\\file_server_name\qube\5.2\32bit\qube-jobtypelib.msi" /qb!
@echo ...
@echo Now Installing the Maya Plugin...
@start /wait msiexec /i "\\file_server_name\qube\5.2\32bit\qube-mayajt.msi" /qb!
@echo ...
@echo Now Installing the 3dsMax Plugin...
@start /wait msiexec /i "\\file_server_name\qube\5.2\32bit\qube-3dsmaxjt.msi" /qb!
@echo ...
@echo Copying Utils.pm File...
@copy "\\file_server_name\qube\5.2\32bit\Utils.pm" "C:\Program Files\pfx\jobtypes\maya\Utils.pm"
@echo ...
@echo Qube Install Completed...
@pause




If you have never made an rdp file its easy.  Either open remote desktop and fill out all the information and hit "save", or you can use a text editor and use the template below as a starting point (just save it out of your text editor as a .rdp file):

screen mode id:i:1
desktopwidth:i:640
desktopheight:i:480
session bpp:i:16
auto connect:i:1
full address:s:machine_name
compression:i:1
keyboardhook:i:2
audiomode:i:2
redirectdrives:i:0
redirectprinters:i:0
redirectcomports:i:0
redirectsmartcards:i:0
displayconnectionbar:i:1
username:s:your_username
domain:s:yourdomain
alternate shell:s:
shell working directory:s:
disable wallpaper:i:1
disable full window drag:i:1
disable menu anims:i:1
disable themes:i:1
bitmapcachepersistenable:i:1




Hope that helps.
Title: Re: Best way to perform Qube! upgrade
Post by: eric on November 09, 2007, 07:49:48 AM
Thanks for the tip!
Don't worry about getting out of line; It's nice to see contributions from our customers.
Title: Re: Best way to perform Qube! upgrade
Post by: christine2204 on November 12, 2007, 04:26:25 AM
I don't work for Qube so I hope this advice is not out of line, but I have found that creating a batch script using msiexec (so you don't have to answer all the questions) works best. I usually run it manually on each machine after that.  I created a bunch of rdp files so I can quickly remote into all the machines, but you could also run the batch script through qube, as described above. 

Here is an example of the batch script I use (replace "file_servername accordingly):

@echo ...
@echo Now Installing Active Perl...
@start /wait msiexec /i "\\file_server_name\qube\5.2\32bit\ActivePerl-5.8.8.820-MSWin32-x86-274739.msi" /qb!
@echo ...
@echo Now Installing the Qube Core...
@start /wait msiexec /i "\\file_server_name\qube\5.2\32bit\qube-core-5.2-1-Windows-x86.msi" /qb!
@echo ...
@echo Now Installing the Qube Worker...
@start /wait msiexec /i "\\file_server_name\qube\5.2\32bit\qube-worker-5.2-1-Windows-x86.msi" /qb!
@echo ...
@echo Now Installing the Qube Job Type Lib...
@start /wait msiexec /i "\\file_server_name\qube\5.2\32bit\qube-jobtypelib.msi" /qb!
@echo ...
@echo Now Installing the Maya Plugin...
@start /wait msiexec /i "\\file_server_name\qube\5.2\32bit\qube-mayajt.msi" /qb!
@echo ...
@echo Now Installing the 3dsMax Plugin...
@start /wait msiexec /i "\\file_server_name\qube\5.2\32bit\qube-3dsmaxjt.msi" /qb!
@echo ...
@echo Copying Utils.pm File...
@copy "\\file_server_name\qube\5.2\32bit\Utils.pm" "C:\Program Files\pfx\jobtypes\maya\Utils.pm"
@echo ...
@echo Qube Install Completed...
@pause




If you have never made an rdp file its easy.  Either open remote desktop and fill out all the information and hit "save", or you can use a text editor and use the template below as a starting point (just save it out of your text editor as a .rdp file):

screen mode id:i:1
desktopwidth:i:640
desktopheight:i:480
session bpp:i:16
auto connect:i:1
full address:s:machine_name
compression:i:1
keyboardhook:i:2
audiomode:i:2
redirectdrives:i:0
redirectprinters:i:0
redirectcomports:i:0
redirectsmartcards:i:0
displayconnectionbar:i:1
username:s:your_username
domain:s:yourdomain
alternate shell:s:
shell working directory:s:
disable wallpaper:i:1
disable full window drag:i:1
disable menu anims:i:1
disable themes:i:1
bitmapcachepersistenable:i:1




Hope that helps.



Does the method above can be use in Linux and MacOS as well? Same way to apply?
Title: Re: Best way to perform Qube! upgrade
Post by: eric on November 13, 2007, 10:49:38 PM
No,
Arenyart's technique only works for Windows installations.
Title: Re: Best way to perform Qube! upgrade
Post by: anthony on November 22, 2007, 10:19:46 AM
for linux and osx boxes, remote upgrade is fairly simple as well.  Just setup ssh to allow root logins using a remote host without password.  This is accomplished by setting up a trusted host relationship in the /root/.ssh directory. 

Read this link to get a better idea.
http://gentoo-wiki.com/HOWTO_SSH_without_a_password (http://gentoo-wiki.com/HOWTO_SSH_without_a_password)

Then you can use the "rpm" or "package" tools respectivly to upgrade your host.

ssh -l root rpm -U qube-*.rpm