Author Topic: Centrally configure run-time path translation on Supe...  (Read 2139 times)

dmeyer

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 40
Centrally configure run-time path translation on Supe...
« on: February 10, 2013, 07:23:09 PM »
We currently manage all worker configs on the qbwrk.conf from the supe.

The 6.4.2 release notes state that the run-time path translation is configurable here as well.

Is there a guide or reference on this?  It didnt appear the docs have been updated with this though i may have missed it.

We'd like to be able to configure both drive mounts and exe paths on a per host basis.


BrianK

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 107
Re: Centrally configure run-time path translation on Supe...
« Reply #1 on: February 11, 2013, 05:59:11 PM »
Worker path maps are new in 6.4-2.

Documentation for worker path maps can be found here: http://docs.pipelinefx.com/display/QUB064/worker_path_map

Note: For most types or submission, you *must* set the convert_path job flag for worker-side path translation to take place.

Worker path maps are designed to translate the paths of project files, but there is no reason they can't be used to convert the paths of the applications themselves.  Simply use the Windows path on the left and the OS X path on the right (or vice versa, or substitute Linux for either OS).

On that topic, there is a new jobtype called "AppFinder" that is designed specifically for finding paths to applications on heterogeneous farms.

Documentation for AppFinder jobs can be found here:
http://docs.pipelinefx.com/display/QUB064/AppFinder+Jobs

AppFinder should be a fire & forget type of solution for most situations, but can work in conjunction with worker_path_map when the path to the executable is not in a standard location.

Note: Python *must* be installed on the executing worker & be in $PATH for the executing user.

Worker_path_maps can be set either in the worker's local qb.conf or in the central qbwrk.conf -- you are able to set them on a per-host basis.

dmeyer

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 40
Re: Centrally configure run-time path translation on Supe...
« Reply #2 on: February 11, 2013, 06:11:56 PM »
Thanks for the reply.  I must have missed that doc.

Two questions:

Can I use an asterisk in path definition as wild card?

Does the Supe need to be 6.4.2 as well? 

BrianK

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 107
Re: Centrally configure run-time path translation on Supe...
« Reply #3 on: February 12, 2013, 08:42:23 PM »
You cannot use wildcards in the path map.

The supe must be 6.4-2.