Author Topic: Perl error in AE  (Read 4771 times)

bcastgrafix

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 3
Perl error in AE
« on: December 10, 2008, 09:44:45 PM »
Hi All,

While submitting a job from After Effects, i got this error:

Can't locate lib.pm in @INC (@INC contains: C:/Perl/site/lib C:/Perl/lib .) at C:\WINDOWS\Temp\job\0\329\329_16.pm line 1.
BEGIN failed--compilation aborted at C:\WINDOWS\Temp\job\0\329\329_16.pm line 1.
Can't locate lib.pm in @INC (@INC contains: C:/Perl/site/lib C:/Perl/lib .) at C:\WINDOWS\Temp\job\0\329\329_16.pm line 1.
BEGIN failed--compilation aborted at C:\WINDOWS\Temp\job\0\329\329_16.pm line 1.


When i followed the path, C:\Perl\Site\lib\...there wasn't any lib.pm file. The job rendered though but i am just wondering what am i missing.

Thanks,

-a

shinya

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 224
Re: Perl error in AE
« Reply #1 on: December 11, 2008, 12:35:44 AM »
Hi bcastgrafix,

What version of Perl are you using?  It almost looks like your Perl
installation is corrupt-- the "lib.pm" file is a file that comes with
perl, and should exist in "C:/Perl/lib/lib.pm".

Could you try reinstalling Perl if you don't find that file?



shinya

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 224
Re: Perl error in AE
« Reply #2 on: December 11, 2008, 12:38:24 AM »
BTW, I'm not sure how your job finished, despite this error message.
Did you have more than one worker involved?

If that's the case, it makes sense-- the one that sput out that error message is highly likely to have a corrupt installation of perl.  However, the rest of
the workers went ahead and finished the render.


bcastgrafix

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 3
Re: Perl error in AE
« Reply #3 on: December 12, 2008, 01:03:22 AM »
Hi Shinya,

My entire renderfarm is running Perl v. 5.8.8
I found the "lib.pm" file in all the nodes except the Supervisor. This is where it is missing!!!
Shall i re-install it there then? or since it is working keep using as is. And if I do have to re-install, do i need to re-install Qube after Perl or not?
Please let me know.


-a


shinya

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 224
Re: Perl error in AE
« Reply #4 on: December 12, 2008, 01:10:58 AM »
Hi-

You shouldn't need perl on the supervisor-- it's only needed for the workers
to execute the job processes.

Since it looks like things are working for you, I'm not sure I can really
recommend a "solution", but if you want us to look into it further, please
send us the job log folder of a sample job that showed this error message. 
Instructions are below.  Please send to our support <at> pipelinefx.com
address, with an appropriate Subject, and also mention this forum post. 
Thanks!

----
In order to address your problem more completely, please send us the job log directory for the job in question.

You can locate the directory by logging into your Supervisor, and looking for the job log folder in the following location (depending upon your Supervisor platform):

Windows
\Program Files\pfx\qube\logs\job

Linux, OS X
/var/spool/qube/job

In that folder, you will find a numbered directory that corresponds to the number of thousands in the job ID. (ID < 1000 = 0) Search in one of these folders for the one that corresponds to the correct job ID.

Zip up the entire job ID folder and reply to this email message with the zipped file.

If the zipped job ID folder turns out to be larger than 2MB, don't send it, but let us know and we will help you address the problem in an alternative fashion.

bcastgrafix

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 3
Re: Perl error in AE
« Reply #5 on: December 12, 2008, 01:33:51 AM »
Hi Shinya,

i emailed the archive. (case 60857)

thanks,

-a