Author Topic: MySQL: Too many connections (1040)  (Read 3880 times)

josh

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 9
MySQL: Too many connections (1040)
« on: November 23, 2007, 07:33:03 PM »
Hi - we are using the standard bundled MySQL package for our supervisor but I'm seeing lately we have the following error over and over:

Too many connections (1040)

So I wonder if it's as simple as finding/editing the my.cnf file for the bundled MySQL and restarting the MySQL service?

Any help would be appreciated,
Josh

josh

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 9
Re: MySQL: Too many connections (1040)
« Reply #1 on: November 23, 2007, 08:36:19 PM »
i've added max_connections=1024 in our my.ini (c:\windows) but it's not seeming to fix the logfile messages...

eric

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 229
Re: MySQL: Too many connections (1040)
« Reply #2 on: November 27, 2007, 07:02:22 PM »
How many Supervisor threads do you have?

josh

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 9
Re: MySQL: Too many connections (1040)
« Reply #3 on: November 29, 2007, 03:03:45 AM »
Ah, yes, I forgot to post back, but I had that at 256 and changed back to 128 and seems to have resolved it. Still curious why I'd cause issues all of a sudden, I changed that about two weeks into deployment...

Also, was 256 a bad choice? Initially I had changed it thinking it had something to do with amount of users using the Qube! client software, some of them were getting time-outs randomly...

Thanks for the reply,
Josh

anthony

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 183
Re: MySQL: Too many connections (1040)
« Reply #4 on: November 29, 2007, 09:47:39 AM »
Hey Josh,

    Are you using the windows or linux version of the supervisor?  There is a known issue on windows where the sockets are not immediatly closed, so you may be the symptoms you are describing with lots of traffic hitting your supe.

    Anthony

josh

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 9
Re: MySQL: Too many connections (1040)
« Reply #5 on: November 29, 2007, 05:25:46 PM »
Ah, we are running the supe on a windows platform, that might explain it. I thought it was odd that changing it from 128 > 265 worked considering we only have about 50 Qube clients.

Josh