Author Topic: Long connect times to supervisor since upgrade  (Read 4809 times)

jbrandibas

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 35
Long connect times to supervisor since upgrade
« on: January 11, 2010, 03:47:16 PM »
Hello,

   I recently upgraded from 5.4 to 5.5.1 and one thing I have noticed is how long it takes to connect to the supervisor via the qubeGUI.  Previously the connection was nearly instantaneous, when I opened the GUI, the job and host list was available immediately.  After the upgrade, there is a variable amount of time (from 5 to 30 seconds) where it says connecting to supervisor..., then it will connect.  This isn't world ending, but it is pretty annoying.  Is there anything I can check to see what is going on?

Thanks,


Scot Brew

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 272
    • PipelineFX
Re: Long connect times to supervisor since upgrade
« Reply #1 on: January 16, 2010, 12:39:36 AM »
The 5.5.1 GUI is most likely timing out when trying to directly connect to the MySQL database on the Supervisor.  You can disable this check by going into File->Preferences and unchecking the direct MySQL query (which was added in Qube 5.5).

If that does not improve launch performance, send an email to support <at> pipelinefx.com and we can look into it in more detail.

jbrandibas

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 35
Re: Long connect times to supervisor since upgrade
« Reply #2 on: June 24, 2010, 12:03:07 PM »
Whoa, I forgot to have the forum notify me when there was a reply to my post. 

I found my answer to this.  Turns out that prior to 5.5, the client didn't try and do a name lookup on the IP address of the supervisor.  With 5.5, when the GUI starts up, it tries to do a reverse lookup on the IP to get the name of the box first.  I tested this by adding the supervisor to my hosts list and it worked flawlessly.  I had our IT department add the supervisor to the local DNS server and all is good.

sersia

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 26
Re: Long connect times to supervisor since upgrade
« Reply #3 on: June 24, 2010, 01:30:06 PM »
Hello~

I have a same problem also.

I think the answer will help me.

But I couldn't get some part's meaning.

Please help me if you don't mind.

=> With 5.5, when the GUI starts up, it tries to do a reverse lookup on the IP to get the name of the box first.

What is the box? I cannot understand the box's meaning.
and

=> by adding the supervisor to my hosts list

Where is the hosts list?

Do I have to use supervisor name instead of supervisor IP address?

Sorry for the question.

Thank you for your kindness.

Have great day.

jbrandibas

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 35
Re: Long connect times to supervisor since upgrade
« Reply #4 on: June 24, 2010, 01:46:56 PM »
Sorry, by "the box" I meant the supervisor node.  I have always only used the ip address when specifying the supervisor node in the configuration.

The hosts file is in a different location depending on what OS you are running.  In Windows it is in C:\Windows\System32\drivers\etc

On OSX (and I believe Linux), it is in the /etc directory

The instructions for what to put in the file are in the file itself.

Here is mine (edited of course):

# Copyright (c) 1993-2006 Microsoft Corp.
#
# This is a sample HOSTS file used by Microsoft TCP/IP for Windows.
#
# This file contains the mappings of IP addresses to host names. Each
# entry should be kept on an individual line. The IP address should
# be placed in the first column followed by the corresponding host name.
# The IP address and the host name should be separated by at least one
# space.
#
# Additionally, comments (such as these) may be inserted on individual
# lines or following the machine name denoted by a '#' symbol.
#
# For example:
#
#      102.54.94.97     rhino.acme.com          # source server
#       38.25.63.10     x.acme.com              # x client host

<insert IP here>    <insert name here>
127.0.0.1       localhost
::1             localhost

sersia

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 26
Re: Long connect times to supervisor since upgrade
« Reply #5 on: June 24, 2010, 02:17:23 PM »
Thank you for your Nice and fast answer.

I'll try to do as soon as possible.

Thank's again.

Have a Great Day.