Author Topic: retry failed frames on chunks  (Read 3089 times)

ghosh

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 2
retry failed frames on chunks
« on: October 20, 2008, 02:47:30 PM »
hi there

a little question

i have a maya render job with chunks (10 chunks)

now after rendering there are a few failed frames
when i use retry failed frames in the gui then it will render the whole chunk..

example

in the agenda i see this

1001-1010 failed ...  (frame what failed is 1005)
1011-1020 failed... (frame what failed is 1018)

when i use retry failed frames
render the whole chunk 1001-1010 ( rendering 10 frames again even it just 1 broken???)

do i miss something???


cherio

ghosh

eric

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 229
Re: retry failed frames on chunks
« Reply #1 on: October 21, 2008, 08:26:30 PM »
No, you aren't missing anything. When you submit a job, you are also submitting a "work agenda" composed of agenda items. Normally, each of those items is a "frame," so when you do a retry, you ask the Supervisor to reset the status of the item from "failed" to "pending," so it can be retried.

However, when you submit a job with chunks, the agenda item becomes a chunk of frames, so when you ask for a retry, you are asking for a retry of a chunk.

I hope that clarifies things.

ghosh

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 2
Re: retry failed frames on chunks
« Reply #2 on: October 21, 2008, 09:54:11 PM »
hmmm okay i understand...

but doest it make sense???

i mean when i decided  to render chunk on a heavy scene loading time of 5 min....
a frame range of 1-500 chunks N 10....

so i have 50 jobs in the agenda
every job has 10 frames to render....
and rendertime each frame 10 minutes....
so i dont want to render the whole chunk again

so now i have a few failed frames so have to check by hand every failed frames and then resubmit this stuff....???

wouldnt be easier when qube know wich frames are failed even on chunks??

mean when you have 20 shots you have to wrangle around and then always have to
check by hand can be an annoying...


maybe that could be a feature request hmmm ...:-)



eric

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 229
Re: retry failed frames on chunks
« Reply #3 on: October 31, 2008, 09:38:45 PM »
I understand how that might be inconvenient, and that is why we normally recommend to our customers they should use frames rather than chunks.