Author Topic: XSI Jobtype Plugin Error  (Read 5068 times)

mlotierz

XSI Jobtype Plugin Error
« on: November 20, 2008, 06:27:59 PM »
I'm a student lab administrator at Rutgers University in Camden, NJ. I'm relatively new to Qube! and am trying to implement Qube! 5.4 into our lab's renderfarm, but I seem to get an error message when I try to load the "QubeSubmit.py" plugin file.  I have all the updates versions of the XSI jobtype, Qube! core, and Qube! worker. I have ActivePython 2.4 and ActivePerl 5.8 installed on this test machine with the environment variables pointing to the right directory.

Here's the error message from within XSI:

# INFO : Qube location (from QBDIR): C:\Program Files\pfx\qube\

# INFO : Appending to python path "C:\Program Files\pfx\qube\/api/python"

# ERROR : Traceback (most recent call last):

# File "<Script Block >", line 45, in ?

# import qb

# ImportError: Bad magic number in C:\Program Files\pfx\qube\api\python\qb\__init__.pyc

# - [line 45 in C:\Program Files\pfx\jobtypes\xsi\QubeSubmit.py]

There is no "Qube.py" file as the documentation states there should be, so I assumed this "QubeSubmit.py" file was what I needed. There is also no api for versions 6.5 or 7.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Scot Brew

• PipelineFX
Re: XSI Jobtype Plugin Error
« Reply #1 on: November 21, 2008, 09:12:39 PM »
Issue: The line 45 of the QubeSubmit.py script is trying to import the qb python module.  That module is by default located at C:/Program Files/pfx/qube/api/python/qb.

The error message ImportError: Bad magic number that you received is a result of a stale qb/__init__.pyc file that cannot be updated from the qb/__init__.py script, or was compiled from an incompatible flavor or version of python.  More information on the issue can be seen from the following python post.

http://mail.python.org/pipermail/python-list/2002-January/121561.html

Solution:
  • Confirm that the C:\Program Files\pfx\qube\api\python\qb\__init__.py exists.